The Odyssey
Trek Connect
Time Machine

Meet the Team

Kavitha Name: Kavitha Rao
Age: 24
Where from: Michigan, Maryland

Click here to meet Kavitha in video!
What does Kavitha think of the World Trek? (video)

When and where were you born?
Born January 23, 1974 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Who did you grow up with?
My parents were divorced, so I mostly grew up with my mom, an artist and a great cook, and anything but conventional. To balance things out I spent weekends with my traditional Indian father, who is a meteorologist and oceanographer, and my stepmom who is the only one in my family who has retained the Hindu practices of our roots. And finally, there's my older sister Pramila. She's six years older than me and we spent most of our time 'growing up' fighting and telling on each other, but we're finally over that and are actually good friends now.

Do you have any pets?
Unfortunately I was cursed with what must be one of the worst allergies known to man and I'm allergic to most pets - the fun ones at least! I used to have fish.

What do you like to do with your friends?
EAT! We love going out or cooking big meals together. We also love music, stuff that makes you boogey preferably, although sitting around listening to some good jazz is nice too.

What things are you afraid of?
I'm afraid of violence.

What is your favorite food?
This could be a long one! I love Thai food, yams, good guacamole, pumpkin pie, spicy Indian food (but I've got high standards), dark chocolate, and pretty much anything with a lot of garlic!

What is your advice to young people today?
Turn off the TV!!!

Who or what has had an especially strong influence on the direction of your life?
My sister. She was the first person in my life to introduce me to service, travel, and activism three things which I would say pretty much define my life now. I remember going to volunteer at a soup kitchen in D.C. with her and how proud I was of her friendships and familiarity with the homeless who came to eat there. Then there was always the postcard from some remote part of the world from riding buses in Malaysia, to climbing up Machu Picchu in Peru I couldn't wait to see what my adventurous sister was up to. Oh yes, I also could never forget when my crazy sister took me with her to stand outside the Pentagon holding up a peace banner. Who would have thought that one day I'd be motivating others to make their own banners and march out in the streets when they see something that is unjust.

What kind of student were you?
I was definitely a procrastinator! The queen of all-nighters but I'm still convinced that I do my best work the night before! Despite all the procrastination, I was a hard worker, so although teachers cautioned against my study habits, I pretty much always pulled through with good grades.

What was your first experience with service?
I volunteered with Student Conservation Association one summer and spent 3 months living in a cabin with 7 others in the beautiful White Mountains in New Hampshire, hiking and telling visitors about trails and taking kids on nature walks. We didn't' make much money, but it was worth it!

What is the country you are most looking forward to visiting?
Peru. The Amazon, Machu Picchu, the Alti-Plano - I can't wait!

What are you not so good at?
Saying No. There are so many wonderful people, and so much great stuff to do all the time that I often try to do it all, which only ends up wearing me out and shortchanging the experience. I need to realize that limiting myself to a few things can make those few things so much more worthwhile.


Kavitha's Archive

Meet the Team
Meet Abeja
Meet Shawn
Meet Monica
Meet Kevin

Basecamp | Trek Connect | Time Machine

Home | Search | Teacher Zone | Odyssey Info

Meet Kavitha